It didn’t involve a punch to where the sun doesn’t shine, but Draymond Green was at the center of the first controversy of the NBA Finals.


In the middle of the third quarter, Green, known for his… hands-on defense, was called for his second technical foul of the game.


It should have caused an immediate ejection. Cavaliers star Kyrie Irving even went to the line and drained the technical free throw.

According to the ABC broadcast, Green’s name was down for the first technical and it was only changed after he was handed the second one.

According to the ABC broadcast, Green’s name was down for the first technical and it was only changed after he was handed the second one.

(Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)



But then, in an unexplainable twist, the referees announced that Green’s first technical foul from earlier in the game was actually on Warriors head coach Steve Kerr.


According to the ABC broadcast, Green’s name was down for the first technical and it was only changed after he was handed the second one.


Making matters worse was the fact that the third-quarter technical call on Green was a very, very controversial call. He seemed to just be playing average defense and the call came out of nowhere.


After the game, the NBA made an official statement on the matter:


Tags:
draymond green
golden state warriors
nba finals
nba

Send a Letter to the Editor

Join the Conversation:
facebook
Tweet



Source link